Supporting quality music education for every learner

Teacher Login
Contact Us
 IMEA Board of Directors
Board of Directors Listing
Board Meeting Minutes

The IMEA Board of Directors consists of 12 elected voting members and a number of appointed ex-officio and advisory non-voting members.

The IMEA Presidency is a six year term and is elected by the IMEA membership at the IMEA State Convention. The first two years of the term is served as President
, followed by two years as the President, and the following two years as the Past President.

Area Representatives
The state of Indiana is divided into 8 geographical areas. Each of these areas elect an Area Representative for a two year term on the Board of Directors. The election for these positions is made by the IMEA membership at the IMEA State Convention.

Collegiate Representatives
IMEA is unique in that there are two elected and voting Collegiate Representatives on the Board of Directors. These representatives serve a two year term and are elected by the collegiate members at each IMEA State Convention.

Ex-Officio Members
The Ex-Officio members of the IMEA Board are appointed by the President and consist of mostly the chairs of the many projects that IMEA supports each and every year. These members are involved on the board for their advice and council, but are non-voting members.

Advisory Group
The Advisory group of the IMEA Board are invited to the board by the President and consist of representatives of the different music organizations and businesses across the state. These members are involved on the board for their advice and council, but are non-voting members.
 Quick Links
Collegiate Chapters
Web Links
Corporate Membership
Advertise with IMEA
IMEA Publications
Executive Committee
Tonya Angle
Kevin Gerrity
Past President
Michelle Oyler
Executive Director
Lane Velayo
Office Manager
Stephanie Putt

Area Representatives

Area 6
Julie Gray
Area 7
BJ Crowder

Collegiate Representatives

Abigail Barnett
Butler University
Savannah Shively
University of Indianapolis

IMEA Project Chairs and Appointed Members

Recording Secretary
Kimberly Inks
Musicator Editor
Jeff Doebler
Peter Sampson
Past-President's Council Chair
Jan Morris
Beginning Teacher
Sue Finger
Circle the State
w/ Song / Honor Choir
Judy Becker
Composition Competition
Judd Danby
Special Learners
Ryan Hourigan
Non-Competitive Festivals
Richard Geisler
Membership Coordinator
Ben Yoder

Representative of a NAfME Society or Program

Collegiate Chapter Advisor
Penny Dimmick
Society for Music
Teacher Education
Caroline Jetton
Research Chair
Don Ester
Society for Gen. Music Music in our Schools
Julie Plant

IMEA Professional Development Conference Area Coordinators

All State Future Music Educators Chair
Mark and Susan Finger
All-State Jazz Band/Combo
Shawn Goodman
Indiana Junior All-State Band
David Cole
All State Orchestra
Nicole DeGuire

Awards Chair
Betty Martens

Conference Exhibits
Local Arrangements
Kathryn Ray
Conference Technology
Chris Rutkowski
Honor Band
Chris Taylor

IMEA Advisory Group

Music Industry Rep.
Russ Bullis
IN ASTA Liaison*
Soo Han
Tom Caneva
IBA Liaison*
Myron Snuffin
A-S Honor Choir Coord. /
ICDA Liaison*
Anissa Bradley
IOSA Liaison*
Josh Southard
IPA Liaison*
Chad Kohler
ISSMA Director*
Rusty Briel
IHSCGA Liaison*
Bonnie Harmon
Indiana Jazz Educators*
Matt Pivec

* = Member of the Alliance for Indiana Music Education


© 2019 Indiana Music Education Assn.
Created by Musix Web Design

Contact Us